Arts and culture Business Entertainment Music

Stage set for the second edition of Old Mutual’s Amazing Voices Competition

Amazing Voices

Season Two of the Old Mutual Amazing Voices singing competition is on its way to television screens across Africa from 11 April 2021, bringing cheer to a continent ravaged by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Auditions for the second season started in October last year and saw over 500 online video entries. After an initial screening process, Africa’s top unsigned talent attended closed auditions before celebrity selectors in their home countries. The in-country selectors and assistants included:

  • Zimbabwe:       Tembalami Tagwirei / MisRed
  • Nigeria:      E-Kelly / Aramide
  • Ghana:            Pauline Odduro / Reggie Rockstone
  • Kenya:               Sanapei Tande / Ted Josiah
  • South Africa:    Buhlebendalo Mda / Morena Sefatsa

The judges went through the auditions and whittled them down. 10 acapella groups from Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Zimbabwe, and South Africa were selected to experience the gruelling judging process as they display their passion and determination competing for the whopping US$ 100 000 grand prize.

Lawrence Mawoni, the Group Communication and Brand Manager at Old Mutual Zimbabwe, said; “We are enormously impressed by the number of people who auditioned remotely despite the global pandemic they took time and commitment to rehearse and perform. I’m proud to say Zimbabwe is well represented in this year’s edition.”

The top 10 groups, two from each country will set out for South Africa for an intense musical, educational and inspirational boot camp experience at Sun City. The talent’s journey to stardom will be closely monitored by the experienced judging table from each of the countries and supported by the show advisor Zwai Bala.

The judges are Zimbabwe’s afro-pop and RnB powerhouse Ammara Brown, Evelle, a previous Nigerian Idols winner, singer, and collaborator, Kenya’s Filah Tuju, renowned as a performer, voice coach, writer and producer, and founder of a Music Academy, Ghana’s Trigmatic, a multi-award winner rapper, composer and songwriter and South Africa’s Vusi Nova, the best afro album and best male awards winner.

For updates go to oldmutual.co.za/amazingvoices for exciting behind-the-scenes footage and exclusive content. Or catch the show on the following channels for the respective countries, Zambezi Magic in Zimbabwe at 17:00, Simulcast on Mzansi Magic, and Mzansi Wethu in South Africa at 17:00, Africa Magic in Ghana at 15:00, Maisha Magic East in Kenya at 18:00, Africa Magic in Nigeria at 16:00.

 

Do not miss the rebirth of Africa Amazing Voices!

About the author

Byron Adonis Mutingwende